State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR)

Texas has offered a statewide student assessment since 1980. In the spring of 2012, Texas students began taking the State of Texas Assessments of Academic Readiness (STAAR) exams. The state also offers the STAAR Alternate 2 assessment for students who have significant cognitive disabilities and are receiving special education services. Eligibility criteria can be found on the STAAR Alternate 2 Resources webpage. Administered for the last time in December 2016, the STAAR L assessment was for English language learners (ELL) and the STAAR A assessment was an online accommodated version of the exam for eligible students with disabilities. However, beginning in spring 2017 STAAR will be offered online with embedded supports (i.e., text-to-speech, content supports, language and vocabulary supports) for eligible students.

STAAR Testing by Grade

Grade 3: Test(s) Administered: Math and Reading

Grade 4: Test(s) Administered: Math, Reading and Writing

Grade 5: Test(s) Administered: Math, Reading and Science

Grade 6: Test(s) Administered: Math and Reading

Grade 7: Test(s) Administered: Math, Reading and Writing

Grade 8: Test(s) Administered: Math, Reading, Science and Social Studies

High School: Students in high school are administered end-of-course (EOC) assessments for English I, English II, Algebra I, Biology and U.S History.

Beginning in spring 2016, STAAR English III and Algebra II will be available for districts to administer as optional assessments.

Accommodation Resources


TEA accessibility policies may apply to any student taking STAAR depending on his or her needs and whether or not the student meets the eligibility criteria, if applicable. These policies are divided into 3 main categories. Within each category are links to policy documents that provide more specific information.

To view or print out the accessibility policies as one file, use the following link: 2018 Accessibility Policies

Accessibility Features: These are procedures and materials that are allowed for any student who needs them.

Designated Supports: These are locally-approved supports for students who meet eligibility criteria.

The Fully Accessible Guide to Paying for College for Students with Disabilities

Read the article here.